The Association for Institutional Thought

14th AFIT-AFEE Annual Student Scholars Award 

Deadline: December 31, 2018


The Association for Institutional Thought (AFIT) is proud to announce its Fourteenth Annual Student Scholars Award Competition co-sponsored with the Association for Evolutionary Economics (AFEE). This competition seeks to encourage undergraduate and graduate students to pursue research topics in the field of Evolutionary-Institutional Economics. As a professional association, AFIT “is devoted to encouraging and fostering the development of institutional thought in extension and modification of the contributions of Thorstein Veblen, John Dewey, Clarence Ayers, John Commons, Wesley Mitchell,” as well as Karl Polanyi, Gunnar Myrdal, Hyman Minsky, John Kenneth Galbraith and others. Students doing research in this vein are encouraged to submit papers that carry on and further advance Evolutionary-Institutional Economics.

Awards will be given to the top three student papers drawn from the pool of submissions. Winners are then expected to present their research findings during a special session at the 40thth Annual Meeting of AFIT as part of the 61st annual conference of the Western Social Science Association (WSSA), April 24-27, 2019 at the Manchester Grand Hyatt in San Diego, CA.

Each of the three winners will receive:

• $300.00 prize
• One-year student membership in AFIT
• Paid WSSA Conference Registration
• Paid Admission to the AFIT Banquet and Presidential Address

In order to be awarded the prize, winning papers must be presented by the student at the special AFIT session. Acknowledgements will be offered at the AFIT Banquet at the WSSA meetings.

Application Procedures and Deadlines

To enter into this competition, the person submitting must be identifiable as having student status. Submitted papers should be 15 to 25 pages (4,000-7,000 words) in length, including references and appendices, and must include a title page with the title, author, educational affiliation, and email address. Papers should be submitted electronically, preferably as a .pdf file, by December 20, 2018. Winners of previous competitions can be found at the AFIT website.

Please send submissions to:

Kalpana Khanal