The Association for Institutional Thought

The Association for Institutional Thought and The Association of Evolutionary Economics

15th Annual Student Scholars Award Competition

The Association for Institutional Thought (AFIT) is proud to announce its Fiftheen Annual AFIT-AFEE Student Scholars Award Competition.  This competition seeks to encourage undergraduate and graduate students to pursue research topics in the field of Evolutionary-Institutional Economics, and related heterodox schools of thought such as Social and Solidarity Economics, Post-Colonial Studies, and other pluralist methodologies.  As a professional association, AFIT is devoted to encouraging and fostering the development of institutional thought. Extensions and modifications of the foundational contributions of Thorstein Veblen, John Dewey, Clarence Ayers, John Commons, Wesley Mitchell, as well as Karl Polanyi, Gunnar Myrdal, Hyman Minsky, John Kenneth Galbraith, as well as new Evolutionary-Institutional approaches that advance the fields of social sciences and humanities are welcome. Students doing research in this vein are encouraged to submit papers that carry on and further advance Evolutionary-Institutional Economics.  

Awards will be given to the top three student papers drawn from the pool of submissions.  Winners are then expected to present their research findings during a special session at the 41th Annual Meeting of AFIT as part of the 62st annual conference of the Western Social Science Association (WSSA), April 1-4, 2020 at the Portland Downtown Waterfront in Portland, Oregon, U.S.A.

Students may submit their papers to other WSSA-affiliated competitions (see, however no individual paper will be eligible to win more than one of these awards.

Each of the three winners will receive: 

  • $300.00 prize
  • One-year student membership in AFIT
  • Paid WSSA Conference Registration 
  • Paid Admission to the AFIT Banquet and Presidential Address


In order to be awarded the prize, winning papers must be presented by the student at the special AFIT session.  Acknowledgements will be offered at the AFIT Banquet at the WSSA meetings. 

Application Procedures and Deadlines

To enter into this competition, the person submitting must be identifiable as having student status.  Submitted papers should be 15 to 25 pages (4,000-7,000 words) in length, including references and appendices, and must include a title page with the title, author, educational affiliation, and email address.  Papers should be submitted electronically, preferably as a .pdf file, by January 10st, 2020.  Winners of previous competitions can be found at the AFIT website.

Please send submissions to the following email address:

If you have any other questions, please contact Ben or Karol, Student Paper Award Competition’s coordinators, to the following emails addresses:

Benjamin Wilson                                                                       Karol Gil-Vasquez
Department of Economics                                                      Department of Economics
SUNY Cortland University, Cortland, NY                               Nichols College, Dudley, MA
Email:                                                       Email: